Big Balls on Leftover Friday

Today’s leftover Friday post is brought to you by Big Balls, not the red ones on Wipeout but the yummy ones with mashed potatoes and cheese.

When I make mashed potatoes I often make lots of extras, most times I have a plan for them and so they get used up in a day or so and I’ve saved myself time and work, but this week I just made extra so I could use up the potatoes that were beginning to grow little extra babies.

I remembered from my childhood the potato pancakes my mom used to make but of course those are made from raw grated potatoes and since we were dealing with cooked mashed types I had to come up with a new plan.

So here is what I did.

1. place mashed potatoes in a large bowl, add some cheese (really any kind you have on hand is good, I just put in a handful each of Parmesan and old Cheddar. Mix.

2. while potatoes are still cold scoop and roll into balls. The size depends on how much leftovers you have but I made my fairly large.

3. place some milk into a small bowl (if you wanted to go dairy free here you could use a lactose free milk, or two eggs beaten) and in a shallow dish place some bread crumbs. I spice my bread crumbs with our favorite seasoning, you should do the same.

4. roll your balls gently in the milk with one hand and place in the crumbs, using your other hand (if you only use on hand in the crumbs and one in the milk you prevent super gluey fingers) roll your balls in the bread crumbs.

5. repeat step 4, it adds a super nice extra crunch. (at this stage you can return them to the fridge until you are ready to bake them)

6. bake in oven at 400 for 20 minutes or so (stick a tooth pick in the center to make sure it comes out hot to be sure they are done)

7. remove and eat.

And that is it. Big Balls. Your kids will love the name, you will love getting rid of leftovers and everyone will think you slaved over them. Oh and special note, I was originally going to deep fry these guys but then I saw how well the bread crumbs held and decided to go the healthy route and just back them, the crust the crumbs formed was perfect and no one missed all the oil of deep frying.

Next time I plan to add a little hot peppers to it and make Jalapeno-Cheese Big Balls. The verity is endless.

We hope you enjoy your own version of Big Balls!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glutenfreewithdee
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 10:50:14

    These look FABULOUS & easily made with vegan cheese, non-dairy milk and gluten-free breadcrumbs!!

    I totally want to make jalepeno-cheese ones!! *mmmhm!* I’ll let you know if I come up with any other ideas!

    Reply

  2. velvetkitten
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 13:09:07

    Please let us know how yours turn out, I am planning to make mini ones for our super bowl party (the jalapeno-cheese ones).

    If you write about making these in your blog let me know so I can do a link back to you, I likes me some cross links.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

